top of page

Tracé Wilkins Francis, Author of Children’s Picture Books and Middle-Grade Fantasy


Website

Tracé (pronounced Tra-cy) Wilkins Francis is looking ahead for great things to happen. “This September, I will be exchanging my 40-40 card for my AARP card. LOL.”


She resides in Long Island, New York with her husband Michael of 19 years, and their 8-year-old son, Joseph. Francis says her son is the inspiration behind her children’s book series. “Some of the laughable moments we experienced with him (Joseph) during his younger years” gave her great material to put in her book and she has more to offer. “My middle-grade fantasy incorporates my love for dance and experiences as a dance teacher/studio owner.”



Instagram

If you’ve seen any of Tracé’s videos, you’ll see that she loves to dance. The love affair for dancing is more than a hobby. “I am a trained dancer and have danced with several dance companies in Washington, D.C. and New York. I owned and operated a dance studio for twelve years. Lately, I’ve dabbled in painting, floral arrangement, jewelry making, and when life permits, she loves traveling.”


Francis’ preschool children’s picture book series is titled, The Real Life Adventures of Jo Jo Bean.


Interviewer: Tell us about your first book.


Youtube

Francis: Have you ever met a little boy with the brightest eyes, widest smile and a wild imagination? “That’s right, that’s me, Jo Jo Bean!” Join four-year-old Jo Jo Bean, along with his BFFs Twisty Tina and Worry Wendell, as he tries to figure out the answers to life’s most pressing questions: Why can’t I celebrate my birthday everyday? Why can’t I eat cookies for dinner? Why doesn’t Santa bring me everything I want? Through catchy songs, charming characters, and funny stories, your preschooler will learn how to make the right choices along with Jo Jo Bean.



Purchase

Facebook

Birthday Bubbles, the first book of the series was published four years ago. Delectable Vegetables, the second book is “tentatively scheduled to be released later on this year”. Francis will soon be adding a middle-grade fantasy book to her catalog. “I know young girls between the ages of 8 and 12 will love it. I can’t disclose details at this time, but I will say if you know girls who like glitter, dance, and magic, they will LOVE this book.” Although it’s currently in the making, Francis describes this book as her favorite of all the books she’s written and she’s “…keeping the title a secret until it’s close to being published.” Her favorite character in the book is “Akar, one of the antagonists. He’s egotistical, paranoid, controlling, and witty. You will love to hate him.”


Interviewer: What are your writing goals for the next 5 years?


Francis: My writing goals for the next five years are:


1) Publish the full Jo Jo Bean series (there are 5 books in the series)

2) Publish my middle-grade fantasy book and work on its sequel.


With those goals completed, Francis would have reached the literary goals she's set for herself, but that doesn’t quite close the door on her desires. She says when her books “…have transformed the lives of the children and adults who read it. It means that I am well-respected within my community, and I continue to inspire my son, and other children to pursue their passions.”


Interviewer: Why did you choose to self-publish?


Francis: I had a specific vision for the Jo Jo Bean series. It was very important to me that children, particularly children of color, would be able to see a little of themselves in Jo Jo Bean and his friends. I didn’t want to sacrifice that vision for a traditional book deal.


Francis, the wife, and mother also have a full-time job and the multiple responsibilities sometimes create writing obstacles. She often uses her one-hour lunch break as writing time. “There are days when I dedicate more time to writing and days I don’t write at all. There also have been times where a burst of ideas have flooded my brain in the middle of work, and I have to stop and write it down.” Writing for Francis is “one of my happy places. When I’m going through a storm, I write. When there is chaos in my life, I write. When things are going well, I go on vacation. LOL.”


Her happy place can also create difficulties. Writer’s block, she says, is a challenge for her. “Sometimes I pick up the pen and have to wipe the cobwebs from my head. During those times, I have to let it go. Writing has to be organic. It shouldn’t be forced.”


Interviewer: Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?


Francis: I’m a creative person by nature. Parents and others would rave about my recitals because they weren’t the typical dance recital shows. I want to stand out and be different.


Interviewer: What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?


Francis: Sometimes I get so many ideas in my head, it becomes overwhelming and hard to filter which ones are most important to the project. It often becomes part of my problem with my writer’s block.


Francis learned all about the power of words when she was in a dark place in her life. “Everything seemed to be crumbling down on me. I came across a women’s online ministry, which showed me that I needed to change. I began journaling, and submitted some of my journal entries to them, which they published. Some people reached out to me and shared how my writings encouraged and inspired them. One of the editors from the ministry said that I had a God-talented gift for writing. This is when it hit me that words on paper have life and power.”


On a lighter note, Francis is guilty of self-researching herself on Google. So, what did she find? “A lot of pictures came up with the events I’ve done with the Jo Jo Bean series and the mascots. I believe the first entry I found on Google had my name and listed me as an author. I said to myself “Wow, I’m finally officially!”


Interviewer: What’s the greatest lesson you’ve learned from being a published author?


Francis: Even as a published author, you have to remain visible. Stay on the grind. Continue doing interviews, even if it’s from podcasts or radio stations no one knows, continuing attending those events where there are only a handful of people in the audience.

When she needs motivation, Francis says, “I look to bible verses for motivation. I love what Dr. Tony Evans, pastor, motivational speaker, and author, tweeted recently. “Where God is taking you is bigger than what you left behind.” I also love Nike’s slogan “Just Do It”. No excuses, just do it.”


If she could choose a mascot to represent her, Francis says it would be a butterfly because “The butterfly represents transformation, resurrection, and hope. Each day, I am being transformed into someone amazing, someone that my son can look up to and smile.”


Interviewer: What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?


Francis: Hiring a professional editor and illustrator. Having a quality editor is extremely important. A great editor will show you things in your writing that you couldn’t see because you are too vested in the story. Also, people are visual. The first thing they see when looking at your book is the cover and artwork. Unfortunately, I’ve seen many authors with unprofessional illustrations. Everything we present as authors are a reflection of our brand. Illustrations or editing should never be sacrificed for budget.


Tracé ends with the following advice to new writers. “Take time to write, and invest in your talent. Stay active. Visit schools, attend community events – anything where you are visible. There are events I’ve done that I initially asked myself “why am I here?” However, it ended up being worthwhile. The more events you participate in, the more visible you become. Go to conferences, even if it’s only one. It’s a great way to network and to gain more knowledge about your craft. These are the ways you’ll be able to evolve.”



Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page