top of page

Helen Edwards, Creative Non-fiction Author


Website

Helen Edwards, the writer of creative non-fiction, has quite the resume. She’s a retreat leader, speaker, podcaster, and Yoga /Buti Yoga Instructor. Wearing so many hats can be tiresome for the active writer, but she finds fun ways to unwind. “I’m a wild spirit with many interests. Some of my hobbies are pole fitness, country swing and salsa dance, bar hopping, traveling, working out, Yoga, Buti Yoga, tribal dance, hiking, reading, hula hooping, podcasting, exploring cultures and food, wine tasting, camping, hanging out with friends and family, and binge-watching Netflix.”


Born in Loma Linda, CA, the 37-years-young is a divorcee and has an 18-year-old son. She currently resides in Phoenix, AZ.


Edwards recently unveiled her first book, Nothing Sexier Than Freedom and she’s hosting a launching party to celebrate its release on April 21st . You can assume that it’s going to be a blast.


Interviewer: Tell us about your book.


Edwards: It’s creative non-fiction. Although, names and timelines have been changed to protect characters. It is the true story of my life and my personal ‘tell-all’ journey on some unconventional beliefs about the world of cheating, sex, life, death, passion, and pursuit.


Purchase

Her blurb prepares readers for a wild entertaining ride: In her fearless book, she dares to come clean about being a notorious cheater, an alienated parent, and a lover of malicious behavior. Exhausted from living in the rat race and in a society full of unhealthy labels, she secretly breaks free and lives the life of happiness under her own terms- but not without discipline, sacrifice, pain, and heartbreak. Strap down and prepare yourself for some of the fiercest, humorous, and misunderstood outspoken concepts of our lifetime! Get ready to get wildly woke because this book is going to rock your awareness to a whole new level!”


When the time came to publish her hot “tell-all” sensation, Helen says she did consider traditional publishing. “I went with self-publishing because based on my research, the author has more control over their publishing product.” The business-savvy author feels quite secure in her ability to take charge, get behind her book and push it forward. “I also felt that I was capable of great marketing if I put my heart, mind, time, and energy into it. Not too much to ask of myself.” Helen says she’s labored over her book for the “...last 5 years. Why not just keep going onto the next phase of this book process?” Just before publishing, Helen made a last minute “bold move”. She changed her pseudonym and went with her “real name”.


Nothing Sexier Than Freedom is a tell-all book that was meant to tell only a few people. “In the beginning, it was never my intention to publish. I wanted a few copies for myself and my friends just in case something happened, we could all remember the ‘good times’.”


Interviewer: Who is your targeted audience?


Edwards: Women are my main demographic. At first, I went with the age group 18-40 and then I had 3 reviews come back from women above 60 who said the book spoke to all women. Therefore, I decided to just say, my audience is women. :)


Helen’s sentimental side came through when she was asked, “What does literary success looks like to you?” Her answer, “My mom being proud of me.”



Finding a balance between writing and life was not difficult for Edwards because she wrote whenever she felt the “nudge” and it didn’t matter where she was. She wrote at her work-station on pieces of paper she kept stashed away. She took her laptop to work and wrote on breaks and at lunch times, sometimes having to sit in her car for peace and quiet. No place was off limit when the inspiration moved her. If she was out having fun with friends in the club, she would use her phone’s “note app” or text herself ideas. And those vacation times that are meant to relax, Helen took along her laptop and worked on her book. “I never scheduled a time to write. I just did it when I had time and energy and felt compelled to do it. Probably why it took me 5 years. Hahaha.”


When Edwards started writing her book, every entry she added to her novel had significant meaning that inspired her to proceed. She continued writing, but after a while, one year passed, then another and then another, and still, her book had more entries to add. Over time, she learned that the problem was not the inspiration that kept her from completing the book, but her own actions. “The hardest thing about writing for me was sticking with the commitment to finish what I started. It was more of a mental challenge for sure.”


Now that her book is out there for the world to view, Helen is ready for all that comes along with a published book, even the negative reviews. She says, “Bring it on!” She’s been preparing for this moment since the day she started writing and she has a unique take on negative reviews. She calls them “easy marketing”. She backs her explanation of “easy marketing” with scientific facts. “The amygdala in our brains are trained to detect danger by nature. It's our number one priority to be in survival mode more than anything else throughout the day. It's facts and backed by science and research that people are drawn to more negative than positive news. Therefore, both positive and negative reviews can be a POSSIBLE win, either way, bringing attention to the product or author and their other books, websites, etc.”


Writing her first book has been a real learning curve for the new author. She says, “I was surprised at how many different kinds of editors, styles of writing, and pathways there are in the author world.”


Although this is her first book, the power of words is quite familiar to the new author. She shares what she’s learned about the “power of words”. “My mom used to make us copy the dictionary pages when we got in trouble when my siblings and I were younger. At the same time, my grandmother made us read the bible out loud before dinner. Between the two books, I realized words can be used for power, love, story, manipulation, and creativity of imagination.”


When Edwards started writing, she says that, “Some of my chapters from the beginning years are more straightforward, relentless, and raw.” However, writing, when serious, has a way of changing the author’s and the book’s context and Edwards was a great pupil of its teaching. She confesses that “…now I’m a lot more conscious of the story line, words, characters, grammar, etc.”


Helen admits to having Googled herself and says that anyone can find her Facebook page under the second listing on Google. “That’s good enough for me.”


Interviewer: What’s the greatest lesson you’ve learned from being a published author?


Edwards: The greatest lesson I have learned is that if you want something done: a book, a book trailer, a launch party, sales, marketing, etc.., you’ve got to warrior up and take the first steps, first actions, first investments- in your own endeavor because no one else can do it with more passion and drive than your own self.


The motivational phrase, “Life is a verb” defines Helen’s life. Susan Jeffer’s books, Feel the Fear and Do It Anyways, has “…inspired me towards action. There is magic when a book can do that and I like magic.” If she ever gets the opportunity to meet her favorite author, she would love to meet, Napoleon Hill.


Self-publishing can be a cost-effective way to help a writer become a published author. However, this author wanted to produce the best product possible and left no room for chance. She fully financed her book and says it’s the “Best money I’ve ever spent.” She had five editors, a video-photographer for her book trailer, and a website host. “Spending your hard-earned money, investing it with the right people who can see and encourage your vision is priceless.”


Edwards doesn’t just say it, she does it. She produced her book like the warrior she encourages others to be. Although her first book took 5 years to write, she never stopped composing it. She financed her passion to make sure that her book was professionally executed. Her book trailer that can be found on Youtube is not just a book trailer, it previews like a movie trailer, with Edwards as the star.


Helen believes in the power of ones’ self and she strives to put her best foot forward and encourages other writers to do the same. Like a coach and a real friend, she gets serious when motivating aspiring authors. “Keep writing even if it feels or looks like shit. (Editors can fix it). Also, take breaks, eat good food, kick back, clear the mind, allow that ‘I wanna write a book’ feeling to come back to you (because it will) and then make moves with it. Lastly, don’t compare yourself to other writers to the point that it turns you off from your own creativity or allow anyone to derail you from your own vision. Throw on music, workout, or get out- do whatever it takes for you to get back into that peak state or “flow state” and then do you, boo.”


Edwards is currently working towards branding her business, Sexy Freedom, LLC. Why brand her business and not herself? She explains. “To brand myself, alone- would not be satisfying enough. I’m a WE person more than a ME person. It has begun with me to get it started, but I hope to expand as time goes on. It’s my hope that it can be utilized as a platform for other entrepreneurs, leaders, speakers, authors, yoga instructors, etc. This way if anything happens to me- the legacy can continue and help others without relying on my existence.”


Follow Helen Edwards & Sexy Freedom, LLC on the following sites:





Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page