top of page

Patti Jefferson, A Children’s Picture and Nonfiction Marketing Workbook Author


Facebook

Patti Jefferson, Patti Brassard, Patti Brassard Jefferson, or just plain on PBJ. Which one is correct? “I use variations of my real name. My children’s books are written under my whole name so that my initials of PBJ can be used and my current marketing book was written under Patti Jefferson as a slight distinction.”


So who is Patti Brassard Jefferson, alias PBJ, aka Patti Jefferson? “I was born in upstate New York in the early 60s. My father was in the US Navy, so we moved a lot when I was little but most of my youth was spent in NY and Virginia. I moved to SWFL (Southwest Florida) in 2010 and loved it. It never snows!”


Jefferson describes her childhood as that “weird kid who read all the time and created interesting craft projects alone in my room! The first ‘book’ I wrote was about a group of kids who built a tree fort in their neighborhood. It was on pink paper and had a few illustrations in it. I was 10. My first actual published book didn't come out until I was 51. I think if the internet had come along earlier, it wouldn’t have taken me 41 years in between.”


Interviewer: What have you written?



Purchase
Purchase

Purchase

Jefferson: In 2013, I released How Long Will You Love Me, a book I worked on occasionally for about 10 years. A year later, I followed up with my second book, Stu’s Big Party and I have just released my first non-fiction book, 365 Bright Ideas to Market Your Indie Books which is a daily marketing journey for indie authors, especially those challenged with little time or financial resources.


Many independent authors have considered going to traditional press companies. The decision to do so is often met with the fear of rejection. But what happens when you know someone in the business? Jefferson did but she was not exempt from the woes of rejection. She speaks about her experience. “I sent out one query for my first book. It was a very small press by one of my favorite writers who decided to branch out and publish other people’s books. Their response was that they were interested but that my book didn’t seem finished. It wasn’t. They asked me to re-submit it when it was complete and by the time I did, they had stopped taking on new authors and the person I had gotten such a hopeful response from was no longer even in the business. I was crushed and knew right then that I wasn’t the type to chase the traditional publishing dream. In my world outside of books, I have always owned my own businesses and worked for myself. That entrepreneurial spirit is hard to dismiss.”


Interviewer: How many hours a day do you write?


Jefferson: Like a lot of indie authors, I have a day job (I own a bookstore for indie authors), a side hustle, a family and a million other obligations. The only time I can find time to write is from about 11:30 pm - 3 am. When I finished my latest book, I had to take some time off from writing to catch up on life, so I went from 4 hours a day to zero. My next project started in April (2018) and I already feel like I need a nap.


Interviewer: How many unpublished and work-in-progress (WIP) stories do you have?


Jefferson: Like most creative people, I have notebooks full of book titles, basic outlines, sketches, phrases and random thoughts that may never see the light of day. I have 2 children’s books completely written but not illustrated and another 365 Marketing book for a different audience in the outline stage. Through my bookstore and publishing company, I am laying the groundwork for two anthologies involving other indie authors. I’d like to get at least 3 of those projects finished this year.


Jefferson is an author who owns a bookstore; surely she is without writing challenges, but she's not. Like many, Jefferson has bad writing habits that she must overcome. “I write like I talk” is the feedback she says she gets from those who know her. “I have a definite casual style to my “voice.” I think it drives my editor a bit batty sometimes but secretly I think it’s one of my superpowers.”


Jefferson was asked if she considered changing her style of “writing like she talks” for the sake of her books. Her answer is not what you would think. “Actually, I believe that writing like I talk is a bit of a bonus with my latest book! Since it’s a workbook, I wanted it to be less scary and business-like. I felt the tone should be softer and more motivational like when I'm coaching an author one-on-one. I think it will be more of a challenge to keep my voice out of a mystery I have in the pipeline. I know my editor personally, so she hears my voice in her head. I'm sure she'll let me know if I'm headed in the wrong direction with it!”


Interviewer: What did you edit out of your most recent book?


Jefferson: Other than the word “that”? Hahaha, I did have to be very mindful of not presenting information that seemed overwhelming or too complicated. My audience is indie authors but the spectrum is pretty vast, so I made sure that my beta readers were from all stages of authors… not released yet to seasoned pros. Anything confusing was cut and may appear in a more advanced sequel later.


Interviewer: What does literary success look like to you?


Jefferson: I’d like to make enough money writing to do it from the tropical island of my choice! Seriously though, my goal is to continue helping creative people with the challenges they (we) face. I see intertwining written formats (books) eventually with visual and audio components (podcasts, training videos, etc.) to reach that audience. Making a difference in that market would make me feel like a success.


Interviewer: Have you ever Googled yourself? If so, what did you find?


Jefferson: HA! I used to do that all the time but now I have a Google alert set up so I have freed up that time. Most of what I have found has been very positive and when it hasn’t been, I have learned what to address and what to let go. Not everyone will love you.


Interviewer: How do you feel about negative reviews?"


Jefferson: I don’t think any of us is fond of negative reviews but I always welcome constructive criticism and I try to stay open-minded about other people’s opinions. In the end, however, I think that we as creatives have to learn to separate ourselves from our work. A criticism of a book isn't usually a personal attack on the author. Of course, realizing that you aren’t everyone’s cup of tea will help soften the blow as well.


Jefferson says she struggles with juggling life and writing and the problem prompted her to write the 365 Bright Ideas book; she wanted to face that issue head-on. She says that “Setting up a marketing schedule around your real life (which probably involves writing) and forgiving yourself when it gets a bit tangled and stressful is key. I don’t plan writing (or work at all) on date nights and my husband is understanding when I pass on watching TV with him because I’m on a creative roll. Compartmentalizing my life into bookstore time / book creation time / family time / me time -- which isn’t always easy -- is the only way to conquer the balance.”


Jefferson may not have published her first book in her twenties, but with age, she’s become wiser and has learned that “There are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going.” A motivational phrase she borrows from the brilliant mind of Beverly Sills.


As a bookstore owner, Jefferson is surrounded by books. How could she possibly chose a favorite from so many? The choice, she admits, is not easy. “I have so many but the one book I have probably gifted more often than any other is Richard Bach’s Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah. It's one of those books that I have read again at various times in my life and been moved differently each time.”


Interviewer: If you could tell new writers anything, what would it be?


Jefferson: Don’t skimp on your product. Figure out how to pay for editing and cover design. Your story deserves it.


To learn more about Patti Brassad Jefferson, visit her PBJ Book store or any of her social media sites.




Address: 13550 Reflections Pkwy, #5-501, Fort Myers, FL 339017

Jefferson also offers signed autographed copies of her books on her website.



Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page